Angels and Demons


Lilith: The girl’s name Lilith \l(i)-li- th\ is of Babylonian origin, and its meaning is belonging to the night.  From “lilitu”. According to legends told in the Middle Ages, Lilith was the name of Adam’s first wife. Because she refused to obey him, she was turned into a demon and Eve was created to take her place.

Seraphim: [seraphim] as a boys’ name is of Hebrew origin, and the meaning of Seraphim is “burning ones“. In Jewish scriptures, the seraphim are the highest-ranking angels of God (above angels, archangels, cherubim, etc). They have six wings and are noted for their zealous love. 
In Biblical the meaning of the name Seraphim is: Burning, fiery.

Ossa: The baby girl name Osa is pronounced as OW-Saa- †. Osa’s language of origin is African-Bini and it is used mainly in the Bini language. The meaning of the name is ‘godlike‘.

97f98e87560d96db5c5a2fdce7c0536e

These were the three names that stood out to me when choosing a name for my baby girl.  Coincidentally they all had to do with god, angels and demons.  I do not find myself a religious person, however I found this whole experience and unexpected pregnancy a highly spiritual experience for me.

I wanted something unique and powerful, something not too girly; something edgy and androgynous.  Lilith was one of the first names that stood out to me.  The story of Lilith goes that she was originally Adam’s equal but refused to be subservient.  Lilith was the first feminist lol.  Ok… I’m not a feminist, but in my heartbreak and raising another child alone, I felt a little bitter and the name Lilith felt suitable and empowering in a difficult situation.

As I scoured the internet for names, I found the name Seraphim.  Very unique, androgynous and a strong name. Too my surprise, Ben Affleck named their daughter Seraphina, a female rendition of Seraphim.  Seraphim is commonly used as a boys name, but also as a female name as well.  Seraphim, being an angel, I found to be a beautiful name in counter balance of each other; beauty in both dark and light.

I couldn’t get the name Seraphim and Lilith to flow; Seraphim Lilith has too many syllables.  I found the name OSSA, like the famous traveling/discoverer couple Martin + Ossa (and one of my favorite clothing companies).  Seraphim Ossa Lilith still seemed like too many syllables.  So I shortened Seraphim for Serah.  Serah Ossa Lilith.

As the pregnancy begun to be complicated, the meaning of the name Lilith started to sink in and superstition.

“People used to believe that Lilith, the evil demoness, would come and try to rob children from their beds at night. This is why the English word “lullaby” is derived from Hebrew words meaning “Lilith go away”.”

the famous bearer was willing to sacrifice a place in paradise rather than submit, It makes the name seem strong.”

The name Lilith has had many cultural variations and meanings across history.  I chose the name for the strong female connotations associated with it.  However there have been variations of her being a demon who steals lives of babies at night when they are asleep.  As soon as I read this, I decided just to name her Seraphim Ossa Manning.  Names can be powerful.

Seraphim Ossa Manning 12.2 oz. 21 weeks + 2 days Rest in Peace. ❤

She is an angel.  She came to me for a short time to show me what I needed to see.

img_9639

xoxo

Posted in <3

Leave a Reply

