Material Things


I made a bandaid for your heart, and bought earphones so I’d always listen,

And glasses for my eyes, so that I will see what I am missing.

I carry a dictionary so that I can understand the language you always speak,

Adrenaline shot, to kickstart my heartbeat, Won’t let the beat street defeat another week.

I bought him rosehip tea, so he would not get sick,

and a silver paged sci-fi flick, 5 books thick,

I took these  colorful happy pills so that I could feel,

but material things aren’t bandaids, and they can’t ever heal.

by me

One thought on “Material Things

  1. I absolutely love this….not to mention I REALLY NEEDED to hear these words right now, today, this moment. Beautiful and healing.

Leave a Reply

