Sarentos: Top of the Ilikai


My friend Aaron invited me to have dinner at Sarentos recently.  I had never had dinner there before, however had attended a few nightlife events and wine tastings.  The forest green carpet made the place feel old and 80’s.  It was in need of a dire makeover!  The views are beautiful, the food superb!  Why wasn’t this place more popular?  To my surprise, Aaron had advised me that they had put $100k into renovations. The new dark (Cherry I believe) wood chairs and  tables compliment the new wine colored carpet and romantic ambiance.

I started with the oysters with ahi tartare, and my favorite of the evening, osso bucco potstickers with lilikoi mustard.  I forgot the picture though. ;(  I paired it with a fine white blend.

White Blend: Conundrum, California

A perplexing blend of Viogner, Sauvignon Blanc, Chardonnay, Muscat & Canelli, from the wine makers of Caymus.  Intensely flavored with refreshingly  acidity & bright citrus balanced with honeysuckle.

My sister Ashley and her boyfriend, Olcun joined us.   They had just gotten finished with dinner Kai Market at the Sheraton, so they shared a salad.

I had the penne ala vodka, with prosciutto, paired with a pinot.

Pinot Noir: Evangeline, California

Elegant ruby red balanced with layers of black cherry, sweet oak, highlighted with vanilla and spice.

Bill had the Osso Bucco.  The sweet jelly in the middle (the marrow) was sweet and delicate like pudding.

No room for dessert!  Had to run to work.
I will be doing a full review of this restaurant in the nearby future…
xoxo
Kristie
Dinner Hours:

Sun – Thu  5:30pm – 9pm
Fri – Sat  5:30 – 9:30pm

Cocktails & Bar:
Sun – Thu   5pm – 11pm
Fri – Sat   5pm – 12am

Location:
The Ilikai Hotel
1777 Ala Moana Blvd.
Honolulu, Hawaii 96814
Phone: (808) 955-5559
Fax: (808) 955-4249

One thought on “Sarentos: Top of the Ilikai

Leave a Reply

