Pimping Your Best Friend


When I think of the term “pimp,” I usually think tacky snake skin shoes and bright yellow suits, lime candy Cadillacs, cheesy hats and bad 80’s fashion.  But today’s pimp is somebody a little bit more incognito.  Somebody who blends in.  Somebody a little bit closer.  Somebody like youre best friend.

The other night I was headed into town to meet a girlfriend late for some drinks.  I called and she told me to meet her at Hush.  I told her I was with a friend, and asked if there was a door cover.  Immediately she asked… “is it a guy?”  What does it matter if it’s a guy?  This is immediately the response most girls ask when you meet up with them.  I happen to be dating this guy and even if he wasn’t there, I wasn’t going to submit to being the “bait” and eye candy to whoever her male company was.  I’m not a geisha, or a call girl, or someone you can just summon to flirt with your male company. I had a social itch, planned to meet my girlfriend for some cocktails, didn’t mind the male company, and I hoped to have a meaningful intellectual conversation with someone.  I usually will go out with a guy friend, regardless if he is a date, or just a really good friend.  I think if you want to talk to me you gotta break down some walls, and if I let some down, maybe you’ll get my number. 😉 I’m a woman with respect for myself.  When I’m out, I’m a woman with class, so if you can’t handle that then hang with the little girls. 

(hey home girl, if you read this, I’m not mad or anything, it was just an epiphany I had at the moment.  I had a great time with your friends and they are super cool!)

Ladies stop pimping your friends!  I thought I left that shit behind in Vegas.

7 thoughts on “Pimping Your Best Friend

  1. damn… my girls love it when i pimp them. they usually make money that’s why… lol… nah nah my friends pimp themselves… and yes you are a woman with class…

  2. I seriously doubt she was trying to pimp you. Give me a break. She probably just wanted some girl time or just to hang out with you.

      1. Is she not very attractive or something? After I wrote that I did forget about a girl that tried to do the same to me-she was older-that was her reason (i guess). I had never had that happen before. I just think its weird, but I picutred her asking you “is it a guy” b/c she was jealous you had one and she didn’t.

Leave a Reply

