Fashion Designer: Laura Karlin


-Name? Laura Karlin

-DOB? astrology sign? April 29th, Taurus (but I’m not really into that much…)

-Where are you from? Lincoln, NE

-Where do you live now? Lawrence, KS

-Where did you study? University of Nebraska

-What inspires you as a designer? I think beauty in general inspires me; beauty in nature, colors, shape, texture, pretty much anything. And my thoughts about what I would want to wear inspire me – I don’t design anything I wouldn’t put on and walk out of the house in.

-What is your goal as a designer? My goal as a designer is to create clothes that might help people discover what they want to wear and what their personal style is. I don’t think people should/have to wear what I design, but if they see something new they like in one of my designs and make it their own, I see that as success.

-What are your inspirations? I’m not really sure I can put my finger on any specific inspirations I have, because it could really come from anywhere.

-Favorite artists? Titian, Jan van Eyck (old guys)

-Fav photogs? Audrey Hannah

-Fav designers? Valentino, Alexander McQueen, Jason Wu, Balenciaga, Armani Prive, Oscar de la Renta, ZARA (if that counts) and lots more

-If you could see your outfits on any celebrity who would it be? Anyone! But if I could choose, either Blake Lively or Racel Bilson. They’re such fashion icons and trend-setters, it would be a huge honor to have that recognition.

-If you could design for any designer or major fashion house, who would it be? Valentino

-If you could compare your designs to any designer and say that they were similar, who would it be? – Hmm, that’s tough. I do lots of feminine stuff, sort of like Valentino… so maybe that’s the closest? I also really love red clothes. But Valentino is in a WHOLE other league.

-Other hobbies? Movies, watching sports, studying language, shopping (duh!), and meeting new people

-Any upcoming gigs? Uh, continuing to blog and design?

-Website? [link]
-Blog? [link]
-facebook? [link]
-myspace? nope
-twitter? [link]
-Contact? Laureliz456@gmail.com

4 thoughts on “Fashion Designer: Laura Karlin

  1. Regards for have really very good informations. Your blog is great and i'm impressed. It shows how well you understand this subject. Bookmarked this specific web site. will be coming again for a lot more.

  2. Fantastic blog! I actually love how it is easy on my eyes as well as the information are well written. I am wondering how I can be notified whenever a new post has been made. I have subscribed to your rss feed which should do the trick! Have a nice day!

Leave a Reply

