Uncle Bo’s Cheap Bistro and Lounge.


My last trip to Hawaii my plane didn’t land until 9 pm.  I had to drive to Wahiawa to pick up my daughter.  by 11 pm I had to decide where to eat.  It was Zippy’s or some of the other late night asian picks downtown.  I thought a walk through China Town with my 5 year old daughter wouldn’t be a good idea.  And late night eats like Toho’s are more bar like karaoke places for adults.  And she wouldn’t enjoy Sorabol.  So I decided to take a drive to Kapahulu and eat at Uncle Bo’s, previously Auntie Pesto’s, one of my favorite spots.  Don’t be fooled if from the outside it looks like a shack, inside is a contemporary and swanky lounge.

I usually go there with my good friend, John Taitano.  It’s one of his favorite spots, especially to drink.  Behind the bar, they have a $10,000 bottle of King Louis XIV (15) on hold for him.  (retail $2k) It breaks down to $150 a shot.  The fine cognac named after the French King, Louis the XIV comes in a baccarat crystal decanter.  The first time he offered me a shot, I had bronchitis, and shouldn’t have been drinking, but I couldn’t refuse a shot of this fine cognac.  It was great, but then I got more sick later that night.

The first time I ever ate escargot was at Bo’s.  To my surprise, I love the buttery taste of escargot.  They have traditional pupu’s like poke or seared ahi, crab cakes, butter garlic clams, or spinach artichoke dip.  And their menu varies from tasty original pizza’s, pastas, steaks, and fresh fish and seafood like opah, opakapaka, and fresh sea bass.  Everything on the menu is highly affordable between $5 and $30 depending if you order some fries with your beer, or a steak and lobster dinner.  They offer a cheap price range and an array of many flavors, a taste palette for every person.

Try the filet mignon, FOR ONLY $20

I felt a little silly walking in to Uncle Bo’s at 11 pm with my 5 year old daughter as it is a young, trendy atmosphere, and drinks are all around.  I had 1 blue moon w/ an orange, and an appetizer, and they had a Keiki menu for the little one.  She had a grilled cheese with fries.  For desert try the oreo haupia mud pie ($6), or the lychee, watermelon, or mango sorbet ($5).

xoxo

Kristie anning

2 thoughts on “Uncle Bo’s Cheap Bistro and Lounge.

  1. Pingback: Inner West LIVE

Leave a Reply

