This is what happens when you try to buy alcohol at Smiths . . .


So it’s Tuesday night and I decide to stay in and have a movie night.  I am with my handsome boyfriend ;D and my little girl.  I didn’t bring my purse cuz Tuesday night ice cream and movies is on Juan.  He wanted to drink Mojitos.  I suggested a mixer and some fresh mint.  He saw the Mojito Bacardi Silver so I grabbed a 6 pack and continue to the self check out register. Juan gave the lady his ID.  Then she told him that I need my ID as well.  I don’t ever get ID’d at Smiths ESPECIALLY when I don’t wear makeup, I look like 35! LOL.  Because I swiped the alcohol in the scanner, I needed an ID as well.  So I went to the car.  He went back to another register, and she fucking called the guy at his register and told him not to sell it to him.  Christ I am older than him!!! (by 5 days) LOL!  SO finally we go to Albertsons to get our alcohol.  We go home and I put the Mojitos in a crystal ridel pilsner glass with ice because they aren’t cold and taste bad.  We notice a bad sulfery smell coming from the glass.  So I grab 2 more glasses that are brand new and have not been used.  It turns out it was the Mojitos that smell like sulfer.  They are horrible and I have a stomach ache now.  The movie was good.  The ice cream was good.   CONCLUSION. . . Make your own mojitos.

XOXO

Kristie Manning

7 thoughts on “This is what happens when you try to buy alcohol at Smiths . . .

  1. Hey Kristie! I like the blog! Wow, I can’t believe they stopped you guys from buying the drinks! But I guess it should be taken as a compliment, you don’t look that old! You should update a post with your own mojito recipe!

  2. Here’s the BEST Mojito recipe EVER

    Make your own mint simple syrup: 1 cup water, 1 cup sugar (use 1/3 brown sugar), heated until the sugar dissolves (you can use your microwave for this). Then let it steep with one cup of mint leaves for at least 30 minutes before you strain it & store it in your refrigerator

    Instead of club soda (or better yet, seltzer or sparkling water), use prosecco (italian sparkling wine – I hate club soda. You can even use inexpensive champagne (or expensive champagn). Trust me on this one. Or, alternatively, try ginger beer.
    Add a dash or two of Angostura bitters to your drink.
    Consider using gold rum or dark rum instead of the light stuff (note: several mojito purists violently disagree with me on the rum switch – they insist it should be silver rum or nothing…)
    And if you don’t have a favorite recipe? Try this one. Note – I used to use my beloved Magic Bullet to do a slushy version (I now have a Bella Cucina rocket blender instead), you’ll have to muddle by hand if you don’t yet have one. It’s important to go easy with the blender, though – it’s easy to over-muddle if you’re not careful.
    In a tall, sturdy glass (or shaker), pour in 1 ounce of your simple syrup, and a handful of fresh mint leaves (6-12 – yes, even if you’ve made the mint syrup, although if you can’t get fresh mint, you can go without. See why it’s wise to make the syrup when you can…?). Muddle this together gently with the blunt instrument of your choice, then add several ice cubes (or crushed ice if you have it), & muddle it a bit more, especially if you’ve got cubes you need to break down a bit. (You’ll make crushed ice if you use your Bullet here, although you may need to add the rum as well to give it a bit more liquid to work with.)
    Add 1 1/2 to 2 ounces of rum, (or more if you like it strong) 1 ounce of lime juice (or squeeze in a couple of lime wedges and add them in) and the bitters; stir vigorously (or cover and shake if you’re using the shaker, blend for two quick pulses if you’re using the Bullet.)
    Pour it into a glass, top it off with a splash (or more) of sparkling wine or ginger beer (or club soda if you must), and garnish with a mint sprig or two.
    Enjoy!

    XOXO

  3. Here’s the BEST Mojito recipe EVER

    Make your own mint simple syrup: 1 cup water, 1 cup sugar (use 1/3 brown sugar), heated until the sugar dissolves (you can use your microwave for this). Then let it steep with one cup of mint leaves for at least 30 minutes before you strain it & store it in your refrigerator

    Instead of club soda (or better yet, seltzer or sparkling water), use prosecco (italian sparkling wine – I hate club soda. You can even use inexpensive champagne (or expensive champagn). Trust me on this one. Or, alternatively, try ginger beer.
    Add a dash or two of Angostura bitters to your drink.
    Consider using gold rum or dark rum instead of the light stuff (note: several mojito purists violently disagree with me on the rum switch – they insist it should be silver rum or nothing…)
    And if you don’t have a favorite recipe? Try this one. Note – I used to use my beloved Magic Bullet to do a slushy version (I now have a Bella Cucina rocket blender instead), you’ll have to muddle by hand if you don’t yet have one. It’s important to go easy with the blender, though – it’s easy to over-muddle if you’re not careful.
    In a tall, sturdy glass (or shaker), pour in 1 ounce of your simple syrup, and a handful of fresh mint leaves (6-12 – yes, even if you’ve made the mint syrup, although if you can’t get fresh mint, you can go without. See why it’s wise to make the syrup when you can…?). Muddle this together gently with the blunt instrument of your choice, then add several ice cubes (or crushed ice if you have it), & muddle it a bit more, especially if you’ve got cubes you need to break down a bit. (You’ll make crushed ice if you use your Bullet here, although you may need to add the rum as well to give it a bit more liquid to work with.)
    Add 1 1/2 to 2 ounces of rum, (or more if you like it strong) 1 ounce of lime juice (or squeeze in a couple of lime wedges and add them in) and the bitters; stir vigorously (or cover and shake if you’re using the shaker, blend for two quick pulses if you’re using the Bullet.)
    Pour it into a glass, top it off with a splash (or more) of sparkling wine or ginger beer (or club soda if you must), and garnish with a mint sprig or two.
    Enjoy!

    XOXO

Leave a Reply

