Alone in Vietnam


I came to Vietnam a week ago to open the Nu Skin market here with my up line and side lines of Team Aloha.  I guess you can say I’m a bit spoiled, I travel in style and need my space.  3 girls in one room spending time together can be annoying, so I booked my own room at a 5 star hotel, Nikko Saigon.  It was in District 1, the equivalent to a tourism area such as Waikiki, but still 5-10 minutes on the outskirts of District 1.  The hotel was a beautiful contemporary condo/hotel building, safe and highly secured.  The hotel had a contemporary eco minimalist feel with olive light greys ambiance.  When checking in the hotel, the hotel key is required to put in the slot to activate the electricity, an electric saving device.  At the door there were two switches, 1 for do not disturb and 2 for clean the room.  Making it simple to not be disturbed and simple to get your room cleaned at your convenience.  It is a very trust worthy hotel.  However, they were very strict about guests coming up to the hotel room after 9 pm and with meetings round the clock, I didn’t like that.

My fellow Team Aloha members lead by Alan Nagao set up shop in the Presidential Suite at the 5 star New World Hotel.  Being around all these “blue diamond” and “team elite” 6-7 figure earners has really inspired me to see how to do it right.  I think it will take me time to accelerate to that speed.  I found a pace that doesn’t kill me.  School, work and my daughter, I need to juggle a few things at a healthy pace. A light bulb went on in Vietnam and I’m making some changes, for the better. (:

There’s so many fun things to see in Vietnam.  I love the wet towelettes on the tables at every restaurants, the vietnamese coffee and fresh strawberry and watermelon juice.  The pho never tastes the same.  75 cents lunches.  Hailing a moped rider and paying him $2 for a ride.  The sad man with one leg that you pass by every day, is going about his business and changes his face dramatically to a long one while he begs, as if you didn’t see him seconds ago behaving normally.  Bartering things down to 75 percent asking price.  Chopard and Chanel watches.  Knock off handbags.  There’s so many things in Vietnam.  I saw a moped hit and old man with a cart of melons on the back of his moped in the middle of a large loop intersection.  Poor guy had to pick up all the melons in the middle of traffic.  The middle loops where multiple roads meet are always a mess of traffic to drive through of chaotic traffic running in all directions.  At first I was terrified to drive in the road, but I notice now that although in all the chaos, there is still a “rule of the road” and people still respect each other and watch out for each other.  I was warned of Vietnam, but I have come to accept that the people are very kind, just culture different.

I was sitting the cab while Alan picked up 200 lbs of fruit on the side of the road for the penthouse Nu Skin Team Aloha launch party when a beggar knocked on my window holding a baby with no diaper and a plastic cup.  I chased her down to give her my leftover fish from lunch.  She chased me back another block to let me know that my bag was open.  She could have easily ripped me off like a lot of people in Vietnam that I am reminded daily of by the locals, but she was very kind and thanked me for the food and told me that she was very hungry.

Wednesday, Team Aloha left.  But my side line in my Nu Skin upline, Steve Huang’s line is staying at Xuan Loc.  So I changed my flight, free of charge to next week Wednesday and checked into the same hotel as them.  I am currently at the police station with a Canadian girl that I met, Valerie.  She was ripped of $280 by the house maid while she was in the room.  She has been selling me r2 which was available in Thailand, but no longer is.  It’s amazing, I had to get a second bottle. I  don’t know what I’m going to do when I run out.  Maybe find me some bootleg r2.  What is R2?  Have you seen that movie limitless?  It’s like that on steroids.  The mental acuity and physical stamina and energy is amazing!

Vietnamese people are always trying to hustle you.  I was told my laundry would be 15,000 vnd (.75 cents).  WHen I got back it was 300,000 because its 15k a PIECE.  That would’ve been nice to know.  Ok… I know, $15 isn’t a lot to get my laundry done for me.  But then they broke the button on my Marc Jacobs dress, bleached my Victoria Secret VSX capri’s and stole my brand new white Hollister shorts.  Unfortunately I am already booked for 3 nights at Xuan Loc.  Some of the team members are moving hotels.  Steve and his line are going to Hanoi for 3 days and will be back sunday night.  I have the weekend to follow up on my downline’s contacts and maybe find a new founder.

I’m definitely on my toes and watching my back.  Keeping my money close to me.  Bag tight in my hands. I contemplated bringing my daughter here, but now I am realizing how freaky Vietnam could possibly be to a 7 year old.

Still

Still everyone must think I am crazy traveling alone.  I’m not with some of the side lines.  But I do have Binh and Hoang taking me around so I’m not really alone.  And hopefully I can meet up with Holly before I leave, Alan’s translator from Hanoi.  She really is an awesome girl!  I realy am more street smart than people give me credit for.  I’ll be fine alone in Ho Chi Minh City, I’m just taking time to regroup before I go crazy and kill it!  #teammillionaires!

 

One thought on “Alone in Vietnam

Leave a Reply

